Let’s Face It!

img1487829407301.jpg

Kikay in the making?

The thing about dolling up, beauty routines, and finding your style in fashion is that its years of trial and error. There’s literally millions of ways in bringing out your inner goddess! I remember being conscious about my appearance when I was entering first grade and me being the principal’s daughter, I wanted to be pretty when people notice me but that consciousness seemed to fade right away because I turned out to be “one of the boys”. I loooove playing outdoors. I climbed trees, I played in the garden, in the mud, beside the ponds. I always come home all sweaty and stuff from chasing games and jump rope and that did not seem to bother me until 4th grade when I transferred to this new private school in town. Our teacher, Ma’am Eloisa, has this very strict rules when it comes to grooming especially for us girls. Your hair should be tied up, uniform ironed and should be spic and span all the day, your white socks in the same length, your shoes polished nicely, you should smell nice too! And get this – your skin, moisturized. Believe me, if you didn’t follow this rule, she would know. It was only until about 15 years later when I realized the grave importance of moisturizing and turns out that simple rule is like the golden rule of skin care.

img1487829907513.jpg

I comb my hair now. 😛

I was first introduced to makeup when I was around 12 or 13 maybe. I was part of the church choir and then the school choir, and so we hold concerts every now and then. Of course, at the day of the event, we wear this colorful choir gowns and we put make up on. Later on, I realized I look good with winged eyeliner and it’s a skill I perfected already at a very young age, I’m so proud. 😀 But I first started out with dark brown pencil eyeliner on my upper and lower lash line so it creates this shadowy emo look and I don’t wanna do that look again everrr.  Lipstick.. it used to be bright red all the time but it’s only recently that I learned to appreciate nudes. Because usually when I do my make-up it’s heavier on the eyes even when it’s day so I have to pair it with lighter shades on my lips.

What I wanted to share in first here is how I do my skin care and makeup. Take note dear, I’m not a beauty expert. But girl, you know Youtube, there’s like thousands of videos in there. My make-up is pretty much my day-to-day go-to look so it’s very, very simple. I think it’s more of for girls like me who have very busy days or for those who just really want to keep it simple. But before we talk about that, let’s go back to moisturizing that skin. 😉

  • Remember, invest on skin care more so you can save on make-up. It’s like having a good canvass first before you paint on it and of course it just makes sense that if your skin is already good, you don’t need to have much on. Plus, it’s easier to create that “no make-up” look in just a few easy steps!

 Facial Care

Your beauty products work best when it’s used on the right skin type so you need to consider first your skin type whether it’s oily, dry, oily and dry, and normal. If you think yours is normal then good for you, it’s the most manageable and you can just maintain it with a basic cleanse-tone-moisturize skincare routine. While me I have bad skin L It’s naturally oily but sometimes it gets dry too so skin care requires more effort on my part. It gets worse because of my daily activities, lifestyle, and body changes. I used to commute everyday and being on fieldwork I’m more exposed to the heat! Because I’m tired, sweating and multi-tasking I reward myself with food but I end up stress-eating which includes sweets, sodas and fatty foods. Worst part is, I usually get break-outs when I’m about to have my period and of course it’s when I crave for chocolate more. When I don’t get much sleep, I tend to drink at least 2 cups of coffee. Also consider the fact that I wear light make-up most of the time. So when I’m not on a healthy diet, when I’m not sleeping much, when I’m too exposed to dirt and heat, it literally shows on my face. All these things you need to consider when you’re formulating your very own routine and identifying the products your skin needs regardless whether you have your own derma doc or you don’t. It all comes down to good habits which requires a change of lifestyle. I tell you, beauty takes discipline and commitment.

Skincare blunders :/ 

I’m a Belo baby ♥ Yeah, I need to get that out right away, but it’s not only Belo that touches my skin. 😀 Before though, I’ve tried Eskinol before and then Maxipeel later on but they’re very strong that they both dried up my face even when I was using Maxipeel’s moisturizer and concealer along with exfoliant solution #3 and then the pore-refining cleanser later (you know, the one with the beads). I remember they also have the exfoliating scrub which feels so good every wash. And then I moved on with Pond’s (it’s not too obvious I watch too much TV -_- ) I’ve tried the black one, it’s the ‘Pure White Deep Cleansing Facial Foam with Activated Carbon’ and the Acne Clear White. And so when I finally settled on Belo, I found myself using both the Pore Minimizer Facial Wash along with the Micropeeling Toner. That’s when I had my wake-up call from this pretty dermatologist when she said that all I needed to do is change my lifestyle and try on gentler products, those that doesn’t contain alcohol. The whitening factor also makes it more complicated. So there you have it, tip is go for GENTLE and more NATURAL products!

Back to my skin’s needs, I needed a facial wash that’s 1) gentle and moisturizing but should also be able to 2) exfoliate dead skin cells (because of frequent breakouts), and 3) oil-free so it minimizes my pores.

So I started using Cetaphil. Aside from the fact that it’s what the derma recommends, it’s a treasure. It’s safe, it’s suitable for all skin types and it’s what gentle feels like. You can never go wrong with this cleanser.

IMG_20170120_201444_838.jpg

It’s definitely worth investing on a good and gentle cleanser!

Rise and Shine!

Recommended:

morning-routine

In my case, I still use Cetaphil in the morning because it’s moisturizing anyway and very safe. Right now I still have to use a micropeeling Toner for the dark spots that I needed to exfoliate. I’m not using any serum yet but my eye cream and face cream is in one bottle already. Before, I use Myra E’s Hydrating Facial Moisturizer but considering I’m already getting some of the chemicals from the Toner, I decided to just use the Eye and Face cream from Vision products. This product is so nice, it’s all natural that it’s formulated with anti-oxidant rich acai oil and it just smells like rose!

Vision Products also has this amazing silky olive cleanser to add more of that all natural ingredients which is superfood for the skin.

IMG_20170223_134916.jpg

*sorry I have to use some online pictures for the last two, packaging on mine looks worn out already!

So this is my toner, Belo’s Micropeeling Toner. Unfortunately, I can’t let go of this not-so-natural product yet from Belo because it’s been really helpful and if you’re familiar with her products, kojic acid + tranexamic acid is her formula for intensive whitening and I need this right now to exfoliate and reduce the appearance of my dark spots.

Now the thing with sunblock is that you can have a sunblock product that you apply after moisturizer but for me having like a separate sunblock product makes things a little more cakey so I go on with the protection from my foundation that comes with SPF 32. But I’d say that if you’re going to the beach and will be totally exposed the whole day, have a separate sunblock product with a stronger SPF. I use Belo SunExpert Tinted Sunscreen as you no longer need to use foundation on this one.

After lunch when you usually do your retouching, you don’t have to wash your face again as this will dry out your skin. Use tissue or blotting sheets just to keep your face shine free. You can also use a facial mist to refresh.

Sleep-in-beauty, Zzz..

 Recommended:

nighttime.png

Now, your evening routine is a must-do. It’s non-negotiable, no matter how tired you are stick to your solid p.m. routine. Not only will it make you wake up looking fresh with beautiful skin, you need to cleanse thoroughly especially after a long day with make-up on.

For removing makeup, I use Pond’s Cold Cream. You just massage onto your face, wipe off with tissue, and then cleanse again with facial wash. For those into oil-based makeup, use an oil-based cleanser and wash away with a foaming cleanser. After thoroughly removing makeup, I still use cleanser and the toner, and then to my eye and face cream.

  • For removing eye makeup, you can just mix petroleum jelly and baby oil and with a cotton pad, place it over your eyes and let it soak for 10 seconds. Wipe gently, don’t rub because that causes wrinkles.
  • It’s really important to have an eye cream as your eye area is very delicate and prone to damage and wrinkles. Choose one that’s packed with Vitamin C if you have dark under eyes, or Vitamin E if you have dry skin. You can also use 2 different eye creams. In the morning, you can use a lightweight eye cream and in the evening, a thicker one that will help regenerate new skin cells. 
  • When applying eye cream, put it along the orbital bone since the eye cream is absorbed upwards. You can also put it in the fridge before applying it so it feels more soothing and amazing. In the morning, leave it on your skin for at least 5 minutes before you layer on anything else.

As I am not applying anything that really aims to minimize my pores, after cleansing I rub ice over the area in my nose where my large pores are and then to the rest of my face. Just be careful not to overdo it as this might damage those tiny, tiny capillaries over time so to be sure, you can just wrap the ice in a clean cloth first. Ice helps in reducing large pores and I also use it as cold compress on pimples!

hqdefault

We often take the neck for granted but it’s also very important, well at least for me because I consider it my asset. I love my neckline, it goes perfectly well with my shoulder blades. Since I often show my neck, I need to take good care of it too. Right now I just use any Maxipeel’s facial cleanser and you’d be surprised that even when you’re just at home, there’s always much dirt on the cotton pad when I clean my neck so it’s just as much important as cleansing your face. And then I apply Vision’s Citrus Lotion for moisture and vitamins, which also smells good and feels good as hand lotion. I swear, after using this product, your skin just feels so soft!

cameff_1487831556015.png

Take care of your neck skin as this can be thinner and more sensitive than the skin on your face!

And to me, the most important nighttime beauty rule is to moisturize the lips so I put on petroleum jelly because nobody likes seeing (and feeling!) chappy lips, right?  My lips usually dry up even when I drink lots of water because of the toothpaste and the mouthwash. Before I put on the jelly, I put on my cherry lip balm from Nivea just because I want to wake up with ‘natural’ pink lips 😉 I actually use my eye gel too from Vision to infuse vitamins into my lips overnight.

13000175_1746178399002495_2988396693532009597_n

Wake up Insta-ready!

Pimples, acne, breakouts – we might all have this emergency situation sometimes or every now and then. I always have Belo’s AcnePro kit ready, it’s actually the ‘Belo Essentials AcnePro 3-Step Clear Skin System’.  The first one is 1) a pimple-fighting bar, it helps eliminate pimples by removing acne causing bacteria and excess oil. Then second step is to use the 2) treatment toner to help unclog congested pores and dry up pimples and third 3) is the pimple gel, it’s the bomb, this really dries up pimples fast and calm inflammation. All this are infused with Purified Bee Venom to help treat mild to moderate acne. As much as I love this kit, I look forward to not needing this at all but like I said, in case of emergencies, these guys definitely do the work.

fb_file_beloacnepro_thumb5

Remember, “zits” or pimples are oil (or sebum from our sebaceous glands to lubricate skin) + dead skin cells = oily skin plug that encourages bacterial growth. You can get this from dirty pillows, dirty fingers, dirty mobile phone, and dirty makeup brushes! Just anything with dirt that touches your face. But you can also get this from hair products and too much salt scrubs. Don’t ever ever ever prick your zits! Natural ingredients that you can look for in your products to help treat breakouts are: Tea tree oil (anti-bacterial), Witch Hazel (anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory) and Sulfur (dries up blemishes and helps shed dead skin cells). If you’re consulting a derma, you might come across the terms Clindamycin, Salicylic Acid, Glycolic Acid or Benzoyl Peroxide.

A facial mask to help manage breakouts is Honey + Oatmeal. Combine ¼ cup oatmeal, ¼ cup water, and 2 teaspoons of honey. Mix till you form a paste, spread evenly on face and wipe off after 10-15 minutes. I squeeze a little lemon juice on mine for added anti-bacterial properties.

img1485589352286.png

with lemon actually 🙂

Another DIY mask that you can do once a week is Brown Sugar + Honey to brighten your complexion.

All in all, give your product/s at least 2 weeks to see results. If you have the means, get a professional facial monthly. In my case, because of my oily skin, I should get them every two weeks. Before I used to get them from Skin Rejuve but for two years now, I do my facials + diamond peel at Slimmer’s World in Megamall. Diamond peel treatments remove the build-up (dirt + dead skin cells) on the skin’s topmost layer. And after every session, I don’t put makeup on for three days because I needed time to heal after the facial and the peeling, and sometimes I find it hard to schedule with activities lined up so my treatments weren’t that regular.

img1485588684957.png

SO TO SUM IT ALL UP ♥ ♥ ♥

morning table 2.png

Evening table.png

When I’m just home the whole day on weekends or work-at-home days, I don’t rinse the cleanser in the morning and I don’t have to apply sunblock. Once a week during the day, I do a facial mask then rinse with the olive cleanser. At nighttime, since I don’t have makeup on, I go straight to Cetaphil cleanser- toner- eye and face cream.

In for any reason you experience breakouts, have your acne treatment/pimple-fighting kit ready, a honey + oatmeal (or + lemon) facial mask to manage the breakouts, and consider getting facial + diamond peel once a month or every 2 weeks.

So there you go! All you need to remember is moisturize your skin, exfoliate dead skin cells, and feed your skin with lots of vitamins– all while maintaining a healthy lifestyle. 🙂 If you already know how to take good care of your face’s skin and be responsible enough to maintain it then you’re all set to play with makeup!

HOPE THESE TIPS HELP! THANK YOU! :*

img_20160906_224838.jpg

Keep calm and love your skin!

Click on the links below to find out more about the products I’m using:

  1. Click on the link to learn more about Cetaphil: http://www.cetaphil.com/gentle-skin-cleanser
  2. Vision’s Olive Cleanser http://visionproductsdirect.com/products/silky-olive-oil-cleanser
  3. Belo Micropeeling Toner at http://www.joodleshop.com/Belo-Intensive-Whitening-Kojic-Acid-Tranexamic-Acid-Toner-Soap-800854.htm
  4. Check out its ingredients here for Vision’s Eye and Face Cream: http://visionproductsdirect.com/products/nourishing-eye-face-cream
  5. Check out Belo’s Tinted Sunscreen! http://www.sampleroom.ph/belo-sunexpert-perfecting-shield-tinted-sunscreen-spf50-pa
  6. For makeup removing Pond’s Cold Cream: http://www.ponds.us/product/detail/95877/cold-cream-cleanser-makeup-remover
  7. Ice Ice that baby face http://mstarsnews.musictimes.com/articles/39090/20141011/top-5-beauty-benefits-ice-therapy.htm
  8. Maxipeel’s Facial Cleanser I just use for my neck http://www.splash.com.ph/index.php/maxi-peel-facial-cleanser/
  9. Vision’s Refreshing Citrus Lotion for my hand and neck http://visionproductsdirect.com/products/refreshing-citrus-lotion
  10. A must-have for everybody, this one’s got like so many uses http://www.vaseline.us/skin-health-care/what-is-petroleum-jelly.html
  11. For kissable lips in the morning http://www.nivea.ph/products/Lip-care/fruity-shine/Fruity-Shine-Cherry
  12. For my eyes and lips at nighttime http://visionproductsdirect.com/products/revive-eye-gel
  13. Excellent review about the Belo AcnePro Kit http://www.saytioco.com/2014/09/belo-essentials-acne-pro-set-review.html
  14. Some more oatmeal face masks to try! http://homeremediesforlife.com/oatmeal-for-acne/
  15. Here are more skin care tips after getting that diamond peel treatment http://www.vanityfirst.com.ph/blog/skin-care-tips-diamond-peel-treatment/
Leave a Reply

